TCU Faculty Senate Meeting 05 October 2017 3:30 – 5:00 PM Faculty Senate Chambers

Minutes

Senators Present: Allender, Marinda; Bashore, Lisa; Bedford, David; Bowen, Kendra; Bradley, Layne; Canclini, Sharon; Carrión, José; Castro-Balbi, Jesús; Chimbel, Aaron; Elwell, Sage; Esposito, Phil; Friedman, Greg; Gil, Dan; Hammad, Hanan; Herzig, Emily; Johnson, Kevin; Jones, Clark; Kiani, Morgan; Ledis, Dennis; Legatski, Ted; Lemon, Alex; Maas, Penny; McGettigan, Joan; Meyn, Till; Moeller, Thomas; Moore, Jeff; Murray, Joddy; Nelson, Karen; Nhan, Johnny; Piñón, Santiago; Powell, Samantha; Preston, David; Quesada, Jan; Sandell, David; Sawyer, Chris; Scherger, Michael; Schiffer, Adam; Scott, Krista; Sherrod, Melissa; Sherrod, Michael; Skinner, Michael; Spice, Loren; Stephens, Greg; Stewart, Alyssa; Walters, Patricia; Watkins, Timothy; Williams, Daniel; Yorkston, Eric

Senators Excused: Atkinson, Sean; Baker, Kathy; Coffer, Jeff; Frable, Pamela; Gollaher, Timothy; Havens, Jill; Jackson, Lynn; Lovett, John; Marichal, Albert; Mayne, Rhiannon; Meier, William; Wright, Robin

Senators Absent: Hokayem, Hayat (Education); Ledbetter, Andrew (Schieffer); Packard, Sally (Fine Arts); Palko, Steve (Education); Quinn, Brandy (Education)

Guests Present: Alison Armstrong (SGA); Londyn Bull (SGA); Provost Nowell Donovan; Caroline Love (TCU 360); Sharon Stahrfisher (Adjunct faculty); Daniel Terry (FrogFolio)

Call to Order

- 1. Faculty Senate Chair Ted Legatski called the meeting to order at 3:30, welcomed guests and led the chamber in a moment of silence in recognition of recent tragic events.
- 2. The minutes of the September 8, 2017, meeting of the Faculty Senate were approved as submitted.

Old Business

3. N/A

New Business

- 4. Provost Nowell Donovan gave a Powerpoint presentation on comparative university data relevant to the current phase of TCU's strategic planning initiative (VIA: Lead On).
- 5. Leo Munson, AV for Academic Support and co-chair of the committee, gave a presentation on the VIA: Lead On Goal #1 (Strengthen Academic Profile & Reputation) Committee's work and its calendar.

- 6. Ron Pitcock, Assistant Dean of the Honors College and co-chair of the committee, gave an overview presentation on the work and the calendar for the VIA: Lead On Goal #3 (Strengthen TCU Experience & Campus Culture) Committee.
- 7. Chair-elect Greg Stephens brought a "Sense of the Senate" resolution from the FS Executive Committee, which passed.

SENSE OF THE SENATE RESOLUTION ON COMPASSIONATE SUPPORT DUE TO GLOBAL EVENTS: As TCU is truly a global community, the Faculty Senate reaffirms our ongoing commitment to the compassionate support of members of our community directly or indirectly affected by natural disasters, wars and civil unrest, and other events, wherever in the world they occur. We call upon all faculty, staff, and students to consider how they can best support our fellow Frogs in their time of need.

8. Layne Bradley, Chair of the Governance Committee, brought a motion to grant permanent status to both the Horizons Committee and the CARS (Creative Activity, Research, and Scholarship) Committee. This motion also passed.

MOTION FROM GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE: The Governance Committee moves the Horizon Committee (HC) and Creative Activities, Research, and Scholarship (CARS) Committee be made permanent Faculty Senate Committees reporting directly to the Faculty Senate Executive Committee. The size, membership, and charges of each committee will be determined annually by the Faculty Senate Executive Committee. At least one sitting Faculty Senator will be appointed by the Faculty Senate Executive Committee to each committee and will serve as the liaison for that committee to the Faculty Senate Executive Committee. Each committee will elect its own chair annually.

- 9. Chair Ted Legatski made a presentation on this year's TCU United Way Campaign, with a stated goal of 725 donors and \$100,000 in pledges.
- 10. Chair Ted Legatski made closing remarks, including a reminder that nominations for honorary degrees are due Tuesday, October 31, 2017, and the meeting was adjourned at 5:00.

Respectfully submitted,

Jan Quesada, Faculty Senate Secretary