# TCU Faculty Senate Meeting 30 April 2015 3:30 – 5:00 PM Moudy 141N

# Minutes

## **Senators Present**

Bedford, David; Busbey, Art; Castro-Balbi, Jesus; Chapa, Cynthia; Farmer, Billy; Friedman, Greg; Fry, Julie; Geider, Jeffrey; Gil, Dan; Gollaher, Timothy; Griffeth, Robin; Hammad, Hanan; Jenschke, Monica; Kerstetter, Todd; Krochmal, Max; Lahutsky, Nadia; Ledbetter, Andrew; Legatski, Ted; Lovett, John; Mann, Steven; McFarland, Dianna; McGettigan, Joan; Meier, William; Michaelides, Stathis; Moeller, Thomas; Moore, Carrie; Moore, Jeff; Moore, Linda; Nugent, Hylda; Petrovich, James; Quesada, Janis; Ramasesh, Ranga; Sandell, David; Sawyer, Chris; Schiffer, Adam; Schrodt, Paul; Scott, Krista; Shorter, Alan; Skinner, Michael; Spice, Loren; Whitworth, Keith; Williams, Dan; Wood, Barbara.

### **Senators Excused**

Argenbright, Kristi; Jenkins, David; Jimerson, Jo Beth; Lim, Steve; Stephens, Greg; Warrington, Patricia.

# **Senators Absent**

Begnoche, David; Clinnin, Brian; Esposito, Phil; Kim, San-ky; Lockwood, Suzy; Miller, Vanessa; Neilson, Robert; Palko, Steve; Scherger, Michael; Schniderman, Adam; Simanek, Eric; Simpson, R. Eric; Woodworth, Steve; Zhang, Qiao.

### **Guests Present**

Provost Nowell Donovan; Brian G. Gutierrez, Vice Chancellor for Finance & Administration; Onofrio Annunziata, Chair of the University International Students Committee; faculty members joining the Faculty Senate in Fall 2015: Baker, Kathy (Nursing & Health Sciences), Barth, Timothy (Science & Engineering), Coffer, Jeff (Science & Engineering), and Packard, Sally (Fine Arts).

# Call to Order

- 1. Faculty Senate Chair Jan Quesada called the meeting to order at 3:30.
- 2. The minutes of the April 2, 2015 meeting of the Faculty Senate were read and approved as submitted.

#### **Old Business**

3. N/A

### **New Business**

- 4. Chair Jan Quesada extended a welcome to guests, including newly elected Faculty Senators who will be assuming office in September 2015: Kathy Baker, Timothy Barth, Jeff Coffer, Sally Packard, Samantha Powell, Gloria Solomon, and Robin Wright.
- 5. Presentation by Brian Gutierrez on TCU Budget
  - See PowerPoint Presentation on FS Webpage
  - Tuition increase 5.5% to \$40,630
    - Will need to decrease rate of increases in future
  - Undergraduate enrollment of 8,650
  - Total revenues of \$595 million (up 8.7%)
  - Merit pool of 3% plus new positions (58 total, 19 faculty)
- 6. Recommendation from COC to sunset International Students Committee: Passed
- 7. Recommendation from FSEC supporting reporting of student class absences via my.tcu.edu portal: Passed
- 8. Report from FRC regarding year's activities
  - Resolution concerning faculty interface with Board of Trustees: Tabled
  - Preliminary report by subcommittee on Use and Pay of Adjuncts: Will be revisited in fall.
- 9. Recommendation from EEC revising the Best Practices for Evaluation of Teaching Effectiveness to recommend that eSPOTS not be used as a measure of effectiveness: Failed
- 10. Election of officers and HMVV and BAC members. All candidates elected by written ballot (Jesus Castro-Balbi, Chair Elect; Greg Stephens, Secretary; Ted Legatski, Assistant Secretary; Art Busbey, Information Officer; Jeff Moore and Chris Sawyer, FS representatives to University Budget Advisory Committee for terms ending 2018; Eric Simanek, FS representative to HMVV for term ending 2017; Jan Quesada, FS representative to HMVV for term ending 2018).
  - Committee assignments will be distributed via email on May 1.
- 11. Outgoing Senators (Cynthia Chapa, Brian Clinnin, Robin Griffith, Suzy Lockwood, Dianna McFarland, Vanessa Miller, Robert Neilson, Hylda Nugent, R. Eric Simpson, and Barbara Wood) and Senators who received special recognitions or awards (Hanan Hammad, Wise Woman Award for Women & Gender Studies program; Suzy Lockwood, Center for Connection Culture Hero of the Year Award; Steve Mann, Neeley Undergrad Teaching Award; Greg Stephens. Neeley Graduate Teaching Award; Dan Williams, Honors Professor of the Year Award) were recognized by Chair Jan Quesada and honored by the assembly.
- 12. Chair Jan Quesada announced special task force on retiree benefits has begun meeting.

- 13. Chair Jan Quesada offered parting words and turned the gavel over to incoming Chair Stathis Michaelides.
- 14. Chair Stathis Michaelides presented a gift to outgoing Chair Jan Quesada and offered a few remarks about the year ahead.
- 15. The meeting adjourned to refreshment in the lobby at 5:02 by Chair Stathis Michaelides.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of Secretary Greg Stephens by Ted Legatski, Assistant Secretary.